Text Size

My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Official support for products purchased from the BuildYourTools.com and BuildYourCNC.com sites, and the book "Build Your Own CNC Machine (Technology in Action)" by Patrick Hood-Daniel and James Floyd Kelly.

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby Awesomeness » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:23 am

shawjo wrote:Sprinkler system wire is usually solid conductor wire. Walmart in their Automotive section has wire for trailer lights. It has 4 wires all put together. It should work perfectly.

-shawjo


I don't think "usually" is accurate. Both Lowe's and Home Depot by me have only stranded wire.
If you don’t have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?
Image
User avatar
Awesomeness
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:46 am
Location: Firestone, CO
CNC Machine: BlackFoot v4 4x8

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby Huzzah » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:00 pm

Thanks Awesomeness & shawjo, I'll check out these leads this weekend. I'm still assembling my unit but hope to be ready for wiring by this weekend.
Huzzah
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:11 am

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby kevinl » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:32 pm

i used extension cords of different colors, you can purchase 14, 16 or 18 ga two wire extension zip cords cheaper than buying spooled zipped cord, just cut the end off..
kevinl
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
CNC Machine: Custom

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby kevinl » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:34 pm

oh yeah, the zip cords are polarity marked, one side is smooth and the other is textured or striped.
kevinl
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
CNC Machine: Custom

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby Huzzah » Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:51 pm

I thought about using lamp cord as it's relatively cheap, 18 gauge, and stranded. What's keeping me from doing that is the thickness of the insulation makes the cord a lot bulkier than it needs to be, and I think it would make the machine look jury rigged!
Huzzah
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:11 am

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby Huzzah » Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:25 pm

I have a line on 16 gauge stranded wire, would that work or would it be to big?
Huzzah
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:11 am

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby SplinterPuller » Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:36 pm

Bigger is always better for wiring until you pysically have not room. Less resistance, easier to wire.
SplinterPuller
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:49 am
CNC Machine: None

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby Huzzah » Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:02 pm

Excellent, thanks!
Huzzah
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:11 am

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby lonetreecreations » Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:51 am

I found the gray security wire 18/4 sold by the foot at Home Depot for about $.60 a foot.
I ended up with motor cables about 15' long per axis. I haven't had any problems with
them being that long. I'm using the newer Toshiba TB6560 3 axis driver board and a 24v/5amp
power supply. I wanted to route my cables through shop vac hoses to the rear side of the
X axis. It worked out really well I think. Here's a photo of the wiring on the back of
the gantry.
Image
Image
Image
Lone Tree Creations
Fort Collins, CO
Blackfoot v4.1 4'x4' with external X shaft supports
XBOX 360 wired controller for X,Y,Z and other functions
425oz Xylotex stepper motors
Wantai Motors 50V/4.2A/128 Micro hybrid stepper drivers & B.O.B.
36vdc & 5vdc regulated power supplies
BobCAD-CAM-ART v.23
Vectric VCarve Pro, PhotoVCarve, Aspire
Artcam Pro 2008
Mach 3
User avatar
lonetreecreations
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:55 am
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
CNC Machine: BlackFoot v4 4x8

Re: My 4'x8' machine motor wire length recommendations

Postby pkuhns » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:20 pm

CAT5 is a great choice for your limit switches however.

If you are going to get interference and random work halts it's going to happen courtesy of 'noise' in your limit switches. I am using CAT5 for those.


Be careful with your wiring selection or you'll end up spending a small fortune on every imaginable kind of wire. Also wasting a lot of time driving all over town looking for the correct color to match the Keling wire colors. I wasted plenty o' time and money finding suitable 16 gauge, 18 gauge blah blah...
http://www.kobbleit.com
Kobbleit is forging a new DIY revolution using precision and innovation.
User avatar
pkuhns
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:48 pm
Location: Indianapolis
CNC Machine: BlackFoot v4 4x8

PreviousNext

Return to Product Support (Build Your Tools / Build Your CNC)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 158 on Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:54 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests