Text Size

Book Build Machine - Scotland

Book Build Machine - Scotland

Postby phill fenton » Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:57 pm

Hi

I am new to all this but have to say what a great book and website. I am now part way through the build of my own CNC machine based very closely on the book design.

I am a sign maker and intend to use the CNC Machine to router out flat cut lettering and also to carve 3d signs and logos.

This first picture was the completed carcass. I decided to clothe the machine using a combination of aluminium composite material and vinyl wrapping.

Front view

Rear view

As you can see, the machine is still minus it's motors and electronics but I am about to order these components through the website.

I have installed mach3 on my PC and have been tinkering with the software to get a feel for how it all works.

Very excited about the whole project and delighted at how easy it all has gone together so far. Thank you James and Patrick for putting all this "know how" into your book and website.

I'll update this thread as the build progresses.

Meanwhile - here's a link to a video of me testing the X Y and z axis motion using a hand held power drill to turn the lead screws
http://www.isigntube.com/player/vPlayer ... d56260243a
phill fenton

CNC Machine: "Book" Machine

Re: Book Build Machine - Scotland

Postby Awesomeness » Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:08 pm

Very nice
If you don’t have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?
Awesomeness

CNC Machine: BlackFoot v4 4x8

Postby bret » Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:28 am

Hi Phill Fenton,
Now don't go and scratch that. :)

Bret
bret

Postby phill fenton » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:47 pm

I've ordered the motors and electronics from the buildyourcnc.com site and I am waiting for them to arrive from America.

Meanwhile I have been testing the operation of the axis with a router bolted into place and turning each lead screw by hand to do some test cuts into plastic and MDF