Text Size

Joco’s cnc clone

Joco’s cnc clone

Postby joco » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:06 am

I've been avidly reading the forums and looking at the buildyourcnc.com site (as well as many other DIY cnc sites/builds) working out the hardware, bearings, motion mechanics and electronics to get for a Blacktoe clone. Unfortunately the shipping costs of a whole kit to NZ is just more than my budget can bear. So I have compromised by designing based heavily off the Blacktoe's shape/ideas while purchasing as much as practical of the "vitamins" for the build from the lads at buildyourcnc.com.

Anyway, I thought I might share the journey as I go along starting with the design work. As a little background I'm an IT Project Manager/Consultant (20+ years in the game) so not really much of a mechanical back ground. I have built a "ReRap Prusa i2" 3d printer from scratch and then a "Cyclone 2 PCB Factory", so not completely useless just mostly. ;)
I'm also pretty comfortable with software so using a CAD tool for the design seemed logical. Anyway, using my aging 2009 MacBook Pro and FreeCad 0.15 (yes the bleeding edge version) I have set off on the road to CNC goodness with all the deadends and pot-holes that I am sure will be encountered along the way.

Here are some initial images as I work out all the parts of this beast before buying lots of wood and stuff. All ideas, suggestions, corrections etc would be very welcome.

WIP Designs:
assembly001.png

assembly002.png

assembly003.png

y-transport-assembly001.png

z-axis-assembly001.png
joco

CNC Machine: None

Re: Joco’s cnc clone

Postby larry104 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:55 pm

Hi Joco,