Text Size

Need help adding a 4th axis to my EZ-Router

Need help adding a 4th axis to my EZ-Router

Postby Mootsman » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:03 pm

Hello

I'm new to the world of CNC routers and need to add a 4th axis to my 4'x8' EZ-Router. I'm able to handle the install no problem but need some direction on components I need to add to my current setup (aside from the chuck and the tailstock.

I've reached out to the manufacturer and they seemed less than interested in helping me and said that pricing would start at $5k for just the components.

Following that, I emailed Ken at buildyourcnc.com and he referred me to this forum.

Please see attached images and help walk me through this so I understand how to proceed.

Thanks in advance for your help and expertise,

Shawn

IMG_0379.JPG

IMG_0381.JPG

IMG_0382.JPG

IMG_0383.JPG
Mootsman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:35 pm
CNC Machine: Other

Re: Need help adding a 4th axis to my EZ-Router

Postby Awesomeness » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:28 am

Basically all you'll do is add a 4th stepper motor, and driver, to the big breakout board (assuming it has pin outputs for another axis). Is it run by Mach3?
If you don’t have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?
Image
User avatar
Awesomeness
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:46 am
Location: Firestone, CO
CNC Machine: BlackFoot v4 4x8

Re: Need help adding a 4th axis to my EZ-Router

Postby Mootsman » Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:53 am

Yes, it is run by Mach 3. Where would I look for the pins for the 4th axis?

Thanks
Shawn
Mootsman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:35 pm
CNC Machine: Other

Re: Need help adding a 4th axis to my EZ-Router

Postby Awesomeness » Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:25 am

At the top of the box, you have those 4 electrical devices (labeled Z, X, Y, S) - those are your motor drivers. I'd start by tracing the wires from those to the large board (which is probably your break out board). See where they connect, and see if there are similar, empty connections (and labeling) that would suggest you have the ability to add more axes. If so, it would really just be a matter of ordering another one of those Gecko drivers, wiring to the appropriate location, and telling Mach3 which pins to send signals on.
If you don’t have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?
Image
User avatar
Awesomeness
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:46 am
Location: Firestone, CO
CNC Machine: BlackFoot v4 4x8


Return to DIY

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 158 on Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:54 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests